top of page
  • Didi from Planty of Curls

Top 5 Places to Buy Houseplants

Updated: Aug 1, 2019



When I first began my houseplant adventure, I thought I was only restricted to one place. I didn't realize the number of places that sell houseplants! The first place I bought a houseplant was at my local garden center. The next time I went I was disappointed to find that no new shipments came in and so I walked away empty-handed. A few days later, I happened to go on my bi-weekly Trader Joe's shopping trip and found a whole shelf full of houseplants in front of the store! A few random shopping trips later and I knew all of the places in town that sold houseplants. No more walking home empty-handed!


1. Trader Joe's



At my city's store, they always have a selection of succulents, houseplants, and bouquets of flowers in front. This is my number one choice for finding houseplants. I found my Peace Lily, Philodendron, Jade plant, and a few succulents here. I've even seen Dracena, Ficus, Rubber Plants, Spider Plants, Ivy, Aloe Vera, Ferns, Palms, and Shamrock stocked. Their prices are amazing at about $5.99 per plant (sometimes with a pretty pot included). Every week they get a new shipment, so every week is a new surprise batch of plants! Oftentimes, plants are not labeled specifically and you may need to have some idea on how to identify plants. I bought my Peace Lily before I knew what it was as it was labeled "Foliage Assortment." I didn't find out until later that it was also toxic to pets, so be careful when buying unlabeled plants. All in all, their quality is good. In the winter, plants do get a little sad after waiting outside for a whole week, so find out when the latest shipments come in to snatch the healthiest and most popular plants first.


2. The Local Garden Center



If you're looking for the greatest variety and most healthiest of houseplant collections, this is the best place to hit up. This is the store that is stocked full with helpful and knowledgeable employees. They most likely will have the best conditions for plants out of all the stores with a greenhouse and proper watering routine. If I want that extra tid-bit of advice on raising plants, I'll spend the extra dollar here. The employees are always cheerful and so eager to help! I've learned the most about growing plants from here!


3. Home Depot



Prices are average here and quality is average, but you may be able to save a quick buck. I got a poor-looking 5 ft. Fiddle Leaf Fig Tree here for $15. I had a very very odd encounter with an employee once, and after noon it can get kind of sketchy in that part of town. If I'm in the mood, I'll stop by after one of my classes just to see what's in stock. It's not my number one choice, but I got a great deal on my FLF and they have affordable prices.


4. Walmart



Also not one of my top choices, but I find the greatest deals here. If you're up to rehabilitate a sickly looking plant, this is the place for you! I got an ivy plant with pretty white tips on sale for $4. I just gave it some sun and implemented a consistent watering schedule. In no time it was a healthy, happy houseplant! I once saw a ponytail palm for $10 that had some brown tips, but was definitely salvageable. Once again, great deals, but watch out for the quality.


5. Farmer's Markets & Estate Sales



This is probably the most random out of all of the places to find houseplants. Sometimes garage or estate sales will sell houseplants for a very good price. They'll often be older, more mature plants that could cost a fortune at garden centers. They're a rare, but special find. One time, my parents found a whole booth at a Farmer's Market dedicated to houseplants. They got me three healthy and adorable succulents that I still love to this day!


Where do you usually buy your houseplants? Online? In-store? Tell me below in the comments!


Happy Planting,




29 views0 comments
bottom of page