top of page
  • Didi from Planty of Curls

Where to Find Affordable Pots for Plants

Updated: Aug 1, 2019


Where to Find Affordable Pots for Plants | These are a few places where you can find inexpensive yet decorative pots for your houseplants (or even outdoor plants). There's no need to spend excessive money to get good-draining pots!

Hey, just a heads up. This post is not sponsored. The brands I mention are ones I just really like to use. I have not been paid to share them.


I'm constantly on the lookout for affordable, yet stylish pots to place my plants in. I'm not one to splurge on expensive things anyway, so plant shopping on a budget is my jam! Here's just a few decorative pots that I've found!



Baskets and Small Pots in the Dollar Section at Target




Lately, Target has had a HOARD of garden supplies and decorations everywhere. But the best place to find the greatest deals is in the dollar section (well, that little corner near the front that's full of fun little toys, trinkets, and accessories. Not everything is a dollar, but its suuupper affordable. I found these baskets for $3 for the small and $5 for the large. I placed my plants in nursery pots then lined the bottom of the baskets with plastic bags. Your plant can still get the best drainage from the nursery pot, but look elegant with the basket covering them. Beware though. They run out quickly, but if you check weekly, you might be able to grab the best finds fast!





I also found this adorable circular pot on the right for $1 each. They're great for smaller succulents or any other baby plant you have. They have drainage holes which is a major plus! You might have even seen they're smaller ceramic pots in stands that are $3 and $5 depending on the size. I didn't buy any, but I'm sure they'd be great for you!

*Side note: I also found some more propagation jars in this section. I'm telling you, they have everything!




Gotta Have the Terra Cotta



Terra Cotta pots are my number one go-to affordable plant pot. You can find the smaller sizes for just a $1 each AND they offer some of the best drainage for your plants. They're clay material allows them to soak up any extra moisture that's in the soil. Goodbye Root Rot!


While I love how these pots look just on their own, I know that a lot of people don't care for their reddish-brown color. The great thing about terra cotta pots is that they're easy to personalize! Grab some paint and coat the edges in white with a gold streak through the middle. Do whatever you like with it! You can end up with a stylish pot for only a few dollars. Take full advantage of your creativity!





Plastic Pots from Walmart

While I still prefer terra cotta pots, as a college student I sometimes have to make the best out of the seemingly most ghetto option. LOL. I grabbed some super cheap black plastic pots, not the nursery pots, just literally a plastic pot, and spray painted them white. Yeah, that's it. While it's not the best quality of pot, it did the job in between paychecks. I'm using a few right now and have considered adding a silver streak through the middle to jazz it up a bit. But, hey, it works!



Trader Joe's



This may seem random, but Trader Joe's has a great plant selection in their store front. Most of the time, their plants come in very nice quality pots. I've bought plants in pots for $5 or $6, which is well worth for the pot alone. Consider buying the ones with succulents. You can take the succulent out, cut off its leaves, propagate them, and then use the pot for the plant that needed it in the first place. You get a nice pot for your plant and eventually ten or fifteen new succulents you can gift to your friends!



Where do you go to find affordable and stylish pots for your plants? Tell us in the comments below!



Happy Planting!






28 views0 comments
bottom of page